Chair of Governors

Kendrick Morris
Chair of Governors, Stockland Green School from September 2017

Kendrick has 38 years of teaching experience and 25 years of senior leadership in Sandwell and Birmingham. He has been a consultant headteacher to a number of underperforming schools, a headteacher, a National Leader of Education and Executive Principal of Hamstead Hall Academy Trust. Under Kendrick’s headship, Hamstead Hall became the first school in the country to receive the Diamond Standard for Cultural Diversity by the Specialist School and Academies Trust. He was awarded an OBE in 2014 for Services to Education and Community Cohesion in Birmingham.

Kendrick has been part of the Department for Children Services and Families’ Reference Group for Community Cohesion. He was also invited by the DfE to join a School Improvement Task and Finish Group. Kendrick has presented at the DfE Public Sector Equality Duty Tools Launch and
taught on the National Professional Qualification for Headteachers and the Aspire to Senior Leadership programme – an NCTL sponsored Equalities and Diversity programme.

Sharon Rostron
Chair of Governors, Stockland Green School

Qualifications: LLB Hons, Dip Local Government Law and Practise

Sharon worked for 15 years as a solicitor for Birmingham City Council, initially with responsibility for Child Protection but then becoming lead Education advisor covering all legal aspects for the LEA, maintained schools and Governing Bodies. Sharon made a decision to concentrate on becoming a full time mother later in her children’s education – her son is a qualified teacher and her daughter is studying Fine Art with the aim of becoming an Art Therapist.
Sharon has maintained her contacts and involvement within school and the community having been an active member and Chair of a PTA and sitting on various Scouting Committees.

Dewi Madoc Jones
Chair of Governors, The Coleshill School, February 2009 to present

Qualifications: MBA Fiscal Studies

Dewi Is the Owner and Director of Greensleeves Lawncare, Solihull and Sutton Coldfield. His longstanding career includes 25 years in IT and Telecoms, working for BT Plc, C&W and supporting the Finance Sector, including 12 years as a Sales Manager running teams with revenue responsibility for £60m. His roles have included team management, coaching and performance, performance management and disciplinary reviews, and financial management of budgets. Dewi Joined Coleshill Secondary Schools Governing Body in 2009, where his roles as a Community Governor have included Chair of Site and Safety and Safeguarding, Chair of Curriculum and Standards, Vice-Chair of Governors, and now Chair of Governors.

Andrew Wood
Chair of Governors, The Arthur Terry School since July 2017 to present

Qualifications: Honours Degree, Eur Ing – Feani European Federation of National Engineering Associations, CEng, MIEE Chartered Electrical Engineers with the IET (formerly IEE) The Institution of Engineering and Technology, LCIBSE Licentiate Member of the CIBSE Chartered Institute of Building Services, MSLL Member of Society of Light and Lighting

Peter Briers
Chair of Governors Mere Green Primary School, from July 2017

Qualifcations: BSc Hons in Aeronautical Engineering; Chartered Engineer

Peter has more than 40 years’ experience in Design Engineering and Project Management across the aircraft, truck, bus and railway industries. More senior roles have included managing large teams of engineers and having budget responsibility for multi million pound projects. Now retired, Peter was previously a community governor for Leigh junior school in Washwood Heath.

Andrew Staples
Director and Chair of Governors, Hill West Primary School, July 2013 to present

Qualifications: Qualified Teacher Status (QTS)

Andrew is a Qualified Teacher with a longstanding career in education, including 15 years as a Teacher. He is Director of ‘The Messy Bus’ which supports teachers and learners. Throughout his career he has been responsible for leading on a number of key areas, including the development of a supporting business plan, constitution, funding provision and marketing. He has also helped to develop the curriculum to provide whole school creative learning and worked with schools to set up coaching triangles. As a School Governor, Andrew was instrumental in Hill West achieving Governor Mark recognition.

Junaid Gharda
Chair of Governors, Slade Primary School from July 2017
Lydia Harrington
Chair of Governors, Brookvale Primary School from July 2017

Qualifications; BA Hons, MA event and exhibition management

Lydia works as a Culture Officer for Birmingham City Council and has over 10 years’ experience advising on policy, procedure and governance as well as offering guidance and support to third sector organisations and freelance individuals in the cultural sector. Previously, Lydia undertook arts board training and chaired a youth board for an arts organisation. This fuelled a passion for working with organisations that make a difference to the lives of children and young people. Lydia joined Brookvale Primary School as a governor after becoming an active member of the Arthur Terry PTA and the chair of an advisory board to a Birmingham based youth arts organisation.